Graduations and Funerals

My little sister’s fiancé graduated high school recently. It’s obviously a time of celebration, hats thrown, dinner parties, graduation gifts, kids dancing across the stage, flowers decorating the arena, etc.

20170528_130944

Flowers.

Arranged similarly to Whitney’s funeral. Eight years after graduation we were laying her to rest forever.

I don’t know the exact statistics but I did know a large handful of kids I was staring at now, on the proudest and happiest day of their young life, would be forever gone within the next decade.

It was only a decade since my graduation and I know at least a dozen kids I went to school with and then attended their funerals. This day was for naught for them. A waste of 18 years when they only lived 20. I couldn’t stop looking around the arena and wondering which kids would be gone in the next year? The next five?

Life can be cruel. I tried to celebrate but the early demise of the kids occcupied my mind for most of the day. Unbelievable how grief has a way of rearing its ugly head at the most inconvenient times.

Leave a Reply

